Wed. Jan 26th, 2022

Digital Desk, Delhi The election of Delhi University Teachers Association i.e. DUTA was held on Friday at Delhi University. Meanwhile thousands of professors and teachers arrived at the university to cast their votes. In the elections, candidates supporting the ideology of Congress, BJP, Left and Aam Aadmi Party are in the fray. The counting of votes also began shortly after the election ended on Friday evening. The election official says the new DUTA president will be announced late tonight.

DUTA is the official recognized body of teachers of Delhi University. Along with the university administration, DUTA’s views on various issues of teachers, curriculum, students and education are also important. The university administration consults DUTA on most subjects. Dutta has also been consulted on the implementation of new policies. The current treasurer of DUTA and contesting the election of DUTA President on behalf of DTF, Dr. Abhdev said a large number of Delhi University teachers had arrived at the university on Friday to exercise their voting right. A larger number of teachers took part in the voting than expected. According to Professor Abha Dev, counting of votes has started on Friday evening.

Delhi University, one of the largest universities in the country, has seen a steady increase in the number of ad hoc teachers in colleges over the last decade. The situation is such that 60 to 70 per cent ad hoc teachers are working in many colleges. In this, ad hoc female teachers do not get any kind of maternity leave or medical facility. This is the reason why various teacher unions made ad hoc teacher adjustment their main issue in this election. On the other hand, the ad hoc teachers of Delhi University have shown their strength and formed the ad hoc teachers front and Dr. Zakir Hussain College. Shabana Azmi has been nominated as his candidate for the Duta election. Due to the Kovid epidemic, for the first time, elections have been delayed by three months. However, his term ended on August 29 this year.

Four candidates are in the fray for the presidency. Among them, NDTF Professor Ajay Kumar Bhagi (Dayalsinh College) from DTF. Dr. Premchand. Abhadev Habib (Miranda House), fielded by AAD. At the same time, for the first time in the history of Delhi University, independent accessible voting technology was used for blind teachers. The Delhi University Teachers Association i.e. DUTA used the Blind Teacher Independent Accessible Voting technique in the Delhi elections. Significantly, the departments and colleges affiliated to Delhi University have more than 100 blind teachers. Because of this technology, blind teachers do not need the help of anyone else to cast their vote. The voting machine names a candidate at the push of a button during voting, on the basis of which blind teachers identify their vote.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *